Mailing List Archive


[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: [tlug] Re: IPv6



On Sat, Nov 17, 2007 at 01:42:41PM +0900, Stephen J. Turnbull wrote:
> Scott Robbins writes:
> `-F'
> `--classify'
> `--indicator-style=classify'
>      Append a character to each file name indicating the file type.
>      Also, for regular files that are executable, append `*'.  The file
>      type indicators are `/' for directories, `@' for symbolic links,
>      `|' for FIFOs, `=' for sockets, `>' for doors, and nothing for
>      regular files.  Do not follow symbolic links listed on the command
>      line unless the `--dereference-command-line' (`-H'),
>      `--dereference' (`-L'), or
>      `--dereference-command-line-symlink-to-dir' options are specified.
> 
> Not bad, eh?  :-)  In other words, man pages aren't primary sources on
> GNU/Linux systems.

Hrrm, I'll have to start looking into info pages. Does Fedora have one
for each item in /etc/init.d?  FreeBSD has a man page for each item that
can be turned on or off at startup. 

I'll also have to check info ifconfig to see if they have examples and
tell how to put an alias on an interface.  However, as it's after
midnight here, that's for tomorrow.  
> 
>  > Changing jobs and having to use Linux man pages after getting used to
>  > FreeBSD ones reminds me of how I learned to play guitar on a piece of
>  > junk, got good and bought a good guitar, and many years later, taught my
>  > niece on a junky one.  
> 
> Well, yeah, except you should have been teaching her piano on the
> Steinway over there. ;-)

She already played piano better than I did.  :-(.   I would use it to
accompany her though.   (And I did a better blues than she did.)



-- 
Scott Robbins
PGP keyID EB3467D6
( 1B48 077D 66F6 9DB0 FDC2 A409 FA54 EB34 67D6 )
gpg --keyserver pgp.mit.edu --recv-keys EB3467D6

Anya: Listen, I have this little project I'm working on, and I 
heard you were the person to ask if...
Willow: Yeah, that's me. Reliable dog-geyser-person.


Home | Main Index | Thread Index

Home Page Mailing List Linux and Japan TLUG Members Links